Search SiteSkip to Main Content

The CCRI General Education Core Curriculum

Minimum Credits: A minimum of 20 Credits distributed over the three domains of knowledge is required to meet NEASC Standards. All eligible courses are 3-credit courses (minimum) but 4 and 5 credit courses may be required by a program. All course selections must be 1000 level or above (Developmental courses may not be used to satisfy "core" requirements). The three domains of knowledge are:

Humanities (HUMN)

  • Art
  • Chinese
  • Communications
  • English
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Portuguese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Theatre


  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Studies
  • Geology
  • Mathematics
  • Oceanography
  • Physics

Social Sciences (SSCI)

  • Economics
  • History
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Sociology

Competency Rule: As a whole, general education course selections (below) must develop the competencies set forth in CCRI's "Definition of an Educated Person."

Distribution Rules: Select a minimum of 6 credits from any two of the "domains of knowledge" listed above. Select a minimum of 3 credits from the remaining knowledge area. (Note that ENGL 1010 Composition 1, or ENGL 2100 Technical Writing, is required of all programs offering the Associate Degree). Finally, add any remaining credits to any area of knowledge to bring the total General Education Credits to the minimum of 20 credits.