Fire Extinguisher Use

Elements of Fire

fire extinguisher

Before extinguishing a fire, it is important to understand the elements that make up a fire. In order for a fire to occur, four elements must be present: Oxygen, fuel, heat and a chemical chain reaction. This is represented by the Fire Tetrahedron. When any of the four elements are removed, the fire will go out. The fire extinguishers function is to remove one of the four components of the Fire Tetrahedron.

Types of Fire

Fire extinguishers are rated based upon the types of fires they are designed to put out. These ratings are identified on the label of the fire extinguisher. Care should be taken to ensure the extinguisher chosen to put out a fire is proper for the type of fire. Listed below are the four main types of ratings.

  • Class A: Ordinary combustible materials, wood, paper, plastics and clothing
  • Class B: Flammable Liquids and gases
  • Class C: Energized Electrical Equipment
  • Class D: Combustible metals

The college uses the following types of fire extinguishers:

  • Water (Class A)
  • Carbon Dioxide (Class BC)
  • Multipurpose Dry Chemical (Class ABC)

Rules for Extinguisher Usage

PASS

P: Pull the pin.

A: Aim at the base of the fire.

S: Squeeze the handle or lever.

S: Sweep from side to side.

  • Be trained in extinguisher use.
  • Use on small fires that are not spreading.
  • Know what type of fuel is burning.
  • Before extinguishing the fire, position yourself with the exit to your back.
  • Do not attempt to extinguish the fire if you are in jeopardy or feel uncomfortable.
Contact Information
Police Chief

Dale Wetherell
drwetherell@ccri.edu

Interim Director of Security & Safety

Captain Sean Collins
stcollins@ccri.edu

Police Administrators

Captain Timothy Poulin
Operations/Professional Standards
tjpoulin@ccri.edu

Police Supervisors

Lieutenant Norman Mageau
OIC Community Policing
nmageau@ccri.edu

Lieutenant Kevin Ziegelmayer
kziegelmayer@ccri.edu

Staff Assistant/Secretary

Melissa Campo
mcampo@ccri.edu

Website Content Manager

stcollins@ccri.edu