Search SiteSkip to Main Content

About Campus Police

At the Community College of Rhode Island we are committed to a safe school environment. Safety is our top priority and we are happy to say that the Community College has been one of the safest environments of all college settings.

We are presently a thirty person department and patrol on foot and motor vehicle across four campuses, which are located in Warwick, Lincoln, Providence and Newport. The Warwick and Lincoln Campuses are patrolled 24 hours 7 days a week and the Providence and Newport Campuses operate 7am to 11pm with some fluctuation of hours based on individual functions.

The department is led by Chief Dale Wetherell who has more than 30 years experience in municipal and college law enforcement. The department consists of a Deputy Chief, Captain and Lieutenants in charge of each campus shift.

We are a non-armed, sworn college police department that is trained by the Rhode Island Municipal Police Training Academy. Our officers have arrest powers and jurisdictional boundaries on the college campuses. We have a close working relationship with the municipal and state police agencies where our campuses reside.

For more information, we can be reached by phone at:
Warwick 401-825-2109
Lincoln 401-333-7035
Providence 401-455-6050
Newport 401-851-1620