HESI

Health Educational System Incorporated

HESI is short for Health Educational System Incorporated. HESI a 4-part (web-based) supervised scored assessment. It is strongly recommended that this test be taken after completion of prerequisite courses. All sections contain 55 questions and take approximately 4 hours to complete.

The Math section covers basic math skills needed for health care fields, including basic addition, subtraction, multiplication, fractions, decimals, ratio and proportion, household measures, and general math facts that are useful, for example, when calculating drug doses and solutions. (Recommended time: 50 minutes)

The Reading Comprehension section covers scenarios that are not health-related. This section also provides reading scenarios in order to measure reading comprehension, including: identifying the main idea, finding meaning of words in context, passage comprehension, making logical inferences, etc. (Recommended time: 60 minutes)

The Vocabulary and General Knowledge section contains basic vocabulary that is often used in healthcare fields. (Recommended time: 50 minutes)

The Grammar section contains basic grammar, including parts of speech, important terms and their uses in grammar and commonly occurring grammatical errors. (Recommended time: 50 minutes)

**Please be advised that the completion of this testing is a mandatory requirement for the CCRI Nursing Program. Students are limited to two (2) attempts within a 12-month period. A minimum of two (2) weeks between exams is required.

HESI Prep English & HESI Prep Math

HESI Prep English & HESI Prep Math workshops are for students applying to the Nursing program. If you are about to take the HESI for the first time, sign up early for strategies to study and for test-taking tips. You can take one or both workshops offered by Student Success. Just be sure to select a workshop that is scheduled at three weeks prior to your exam date.

HESI Prep English topics include: reading a short passage for understanding, unraveling comprehension questions, defining homophones, troublesome word pairs and HESI-specific vocabulary; and a grammar self-assessment.

HESI Prep Math topics include: ratios & proportions, unit conversions, operations with fractions, interpreting word problems and understanding percentages.

VISIT www.ccri.edu/success TO SIGN UP.

Study books are available in the CCRI Bookstore. Testing is by appointment only. There is a $50 fee which is due at the time of the appointment.

Testing Dates and Times

Flanagan Campus - 333-7159
Day of the week Date Time
Thursday February 21, 2019 9:00am
Tuesday February 26, 2019 9:00am
Thursday February 28, 2019 9:00am
Tuesday March 5, 2019 9:00am
Tuesday March 26, 2019 9:00am
Tuesday April 16, 2019 9:00am
Tuesday April 30, 2019 9:00am
Tuesday May 7, 2019 9:00am
Wednesday May 8, 2019 9:00am
Wednesday May 22, 2019 9:00am
Thursday May 30, 2019 9:00am
Tuesday May 28, 2019 9:00am
Tuesday June 4, 2019 9:00am
Thursday June 6, 2019 9:00am
Tuesday June 25, 2019 9:00am
Tuesday June 27, 2019 9:00am
Knight Campus - 825-2404
Day of the week Date Time
Monday February 18, 2019 9:00am
Wednesday February 20, 2019 9:00am
Monday February 25, 2019 9:00am
Wednesday February 27, 2019 9:00am
Thursday February 28, 2019 9:00am
Liston Campus - 455-6149
Day of the week Date Time
     
Newport County Campus - 851-1631
Day of the week Date Time
     
     
     

Contact Information

Lincoln 333-7159

Warwick 825-2404

Providence 455-6149

Newport 851-1631


Top
Last Updated: 2/14/19