POLICY TITLE: Workforce Partnerships Motorcycle Program Enrollment Eligibility
POLICY NUMBER: 6.5.3
EFFECTIVE: April 2013
To legally ride a motorcycle in Rhode Island, state law requires successful completion of a Motorcycle Rider Safety Course. Anyone seeking to obtain a motorcycle license must successfully complete a 16.5 hour training program. This program is comprised of two lectures, a 3.5 hour session and a 3 hour session. In addition students must successfully complete two 5 hour riding ranges.
The basic rider’s course provides safety education and training that is compulsory for every RI motorcyclist-the only such state requirement in the nation. CCRI has purchased motorcycles, built special housing for them, and has incorporated the national Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) standards into the curriculum. Funding for the program is provided from student tuition and from fees assessed by the Registry of Motor Vehicles. Classes run from March to November (weather permitting). CCRI also offers intermediate and advanced rider courses for licensed riders.
If you are under the age of 18, you must complete the 'Minor Release Agreement' form and possess an operator’s license (full or provisional). The 'Minor Release Agreement' form must be submitted at the time of registration.
Participants under the age of 18:
This applies to students registered for any Motorcycle Training Course.
The Workforce Partnerships at the Community College of Rhode Island is the institution’s office responsible for coordinating motorcycle safety training courses.
Workforce Partnerships Refund Policy
Workforce Partnerships Motorcycle Range