RI Rider Education Program
Knight Campus, Warwick
400 East Avenue, 4th Floor
Warwick, RI 02886
Tel: 401.825.1214 (Warwick)
Tel: 401.333.7070 (Lincoln)
All CWCE offices will be closed on:
400 East Avenue, 4th Floor
Warwick, RI 02886
4th Floor, Room 4200, Center for Workforce & Community Education - Campus Map
1762 Louisquisset Pike
Lincoln, RI 02865
2nd Floor South (Entrance A), Center for Workforce & Community Education - Campus Map
*The Lincoln CWCE office will be closed on:
† The Lincoln CWCE office will be closing at 4pm on:
M, 12/21- R, 12/31
One Hilton Street
Providence, RI 02905
1st Floor, Center for Workforce & Community Education - Campus Map
Para información en Español , favor llame al 401-455-6019
Basic Rider Course (BRC)
For the Basic Rider Course (Non-Licensed Riders)
To legally ride a motorcycle in Rhode Island, state law requires successful completion of a Motorcycle Rider Safety Course. Anyone seeking to obtain a motorcycle license must successfully complete a 16.5 hour training program. This program is compromised of 6.5 hours of lectures and two 5-hour riding ranges. CCRI provides all training motorcycles.
It is illegal in Rhode Island to ride a motorcycle without a motorcycle license or permit: DO NOT ride your motorcycle to classes or ranges.
Program and Safety Requirements
There are specific and stringent safety requirements of the Motorcycle Safety Program that must be followed. It is mandatory that all students bring the following to:
- Pen or pencil, highlighter, paper and your Valid Driver’s License
- No one will be tested without a valid driver's license.
- DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet
- Long sleeve shirt or jacket, durable pants (such as jeans)
- Leather, full fingered gloves & Over the ankle leather shoes with a good, non-slip sole.
- Eye protection -- sun glasses or prescription glasses are ok; but, remember to bring clear lenses if ranges are at night. All eye protection must be made of safety glass.
- Bring snacks and refreshments to keep you alert and hydrated (breaks are given at the discretion of the instructor)
- Rain gear when needed – check the weather before you travel to class
Remember – You must dress according to the weather conditions. For colder months, dress in layers. During warmer months, long sleeve tee-shirts or button downs are acceptable. Five hours outdoors on bikes can be very uncomfortable if you are not dressed for the conditions.
Failure to bring the appropriate items/gear to the range, failure to appear without notice and/or failure to arrive on time will result in your having to reschedule and pay a range rescheduling fee of $50.
Our goal is for you to complete the course in a timely fashion according to your chosen schedule. If, however, you do not complete all hours (16.5) successfully within the program year in which you begin, you must re-register, pay full course fees, and take the entire class in the next year. There are no exceptions.
Each student must successfully pass a written exam, at the second lecture; and a riding skills test, at the second range session. Failure of the written exam will result in rescheduling and retesting at a later date. Failure to pass the riding skills test may result in rescheduling into the entire motorcycle safety program. Your Rider Coach will advise you as to the best and safest course of action to meet your individual needs.
Motorcycle Rider Coaches are certified and trained to provide you with the best training available; however, it is not uncommon that a student has difficulty in meeting all standards of safety after the first attempt. For this reason students will be allowed to retake the first range ($50 fee). The student will be rescheduled to another range as soon as possible, based on the recommendation of the instructor. A second failure of range one may result in rescheduling into the entire motorcycle safety program.
Your Certificate of completion is valid for six months. You must visit the DMV to apply for your permit within that time frame. If your certificate expires, you may be eligible for recertification upon successful completion of a riding skills test. Eligibility is determined by the length of time from the date of your original completion. If it is within one year, you will be scheduled to take a riding skills test and earn a new certificate of completion. There is a fee ($50) for the riding skills re-test.
If you are under the age of 18, you must complete the 'Minor Release Agreement' form and possess an operator’s license (full or provisional). The 'Minor Release Agreement' form must be submitted at the time of registration.
Cost & Payment
Payment in full, $125 (RI residents) or $225 (Out-of-State residents), must be at the time of registration.
A Returned Check Fee of $25 is assessed for any check returned to the College by the bank. This fee is non-refundable. No personal checks will be accepted on an account where a Returned Check Fee has been assessed.
Rescheduling Fees (without medical documentation)
If you miss a range or are required to retake a range, you will be given a reschedule form by your instructor. This form must be fully completed and brought by you to one of our CWCE office locations. At that time, you will pay a $50 rescheduling fee and receive your new range date.
Students must provide a minimum of 48-hours’ notice prior to the start of a course in order to be eligible for a refund. Without proper notice or documented medical excuse, students will be required to re-register and pay. No partial refunds of tuition are made under any circumstances. Students are eligible for a refund in full if the course has been cancelled by CWCE.
Individuals who need interpreter services for the hearing impaired or other special accommodations are requested to make these needs and preferences known a minimum of 45 days prior to the start of class. [Learn More]
Telephone registrations cannot be accepted for the RI Rider Education Preparation Program. Please select from the registration options below (Register in Person, Fax, or Mail). Please note that online registration is unavailable at this time. All registrations must be processed through CCRI prior to the start of class.
There is a maximum enrollment number for each class and classes do fill fast, so please don't wait until the last minute to register! CWCE will cancel courses that do not meet minimum enrollment standards. Any student affected by a cancellation will be notified and eligible to transfer to another available course or receive a refund in full.
Students will receive an email notification confirming their registration within 2 days if a legible, valid email address is provided on this form. If you do not receive notification, you can call one of our CWCE offices listed in the contact information box on the top right of this page to confirm your registration. It is necessary for you to provide all required information, except those fields noted as ‘optional.’
Eligible students wishing to pay by cash, check or money order (payable to CCRI), or credit card may register in person at one of our CWCE locations. For more information on hours of operation by campus, see the Contact Information box on the top right of this page.
Eligible students wishing to pay by credit card may fax a RI Rider Education Program Registration Form - PDF* to the Center for Workforce & Community Education Office at 401.825.1116.
Eligible students wishing to pay by check or money order (payable to CCRI) or by credit card may do so by mailing a RI Rider Education Program Registration Form - PDF* to: CCRI, Center for Workforce & Community Education, Attn: RI Rider Education Program, 400 East Avenue, Warwick, RI 02886