POLICY TITLE: Driver Education Student Age
POLICY NUMBER: 6.5.1
EFFECTIVE: June 1, 2013
Since October 1, 2003, the Community College of Rhode Island has administered the Driver Education Program for the State of Rhode Island.
To register, students must be a minimum age of 15 years, 10 months by the first class and may not be more than twenty-one (21) years of age.
Driver Education - Thirty-three (33) hours of classroom instruction for applicants or prospective applicants for a limited instruction permit or license. The instruction shall include eight (8) hours, specifically for instruction on the effects of alcohol and drugs on a driver, and the instruction shall be given by a person eligible for a teacher's certificate issued under the authority of the state board of education.
Students registering for the Driver Education Program
There are no exceptions to this policy.
The Workforce Partnerships is the institution’s office responsible for coordinating driver education courses pursuant to RI Statute 31-10-19 below.