Community College of Rhode Island

Go to 50th Anniversary website

Get Adobe Reader

*PDF files require Adobe Acrobat Reader to view - Download here

Consolidating Courses in MyCCRI

Using the new Course Consolidator tool, faculty may now group all sections of a course into a single course space. Once selected courses have been consolidated, faculty have the option of opening the grouped course and using the tools to reach all members of all sections of a course at once. Any files, links, announcements, news articles or message board entries will be populated through all the linked courses simultaneously. Faculty will still be able to access the course sections individually as well.

Important Note: Faculty who set up consolidated courses and use that option to distribute files, links, photos, etc. will be able to carry over the material in the consolidated course from semester to semester without reloading. However, it is very important to remove the courses two weeks after the end of each semester before they've been deleted by IT in order to reuse the consolidated course space. To remove just the previous courses and leave the content intact, follow steps 1 through 7 on the Removing a Consolidated Course in MyCCRI. Don't remove the consolidated course group itself, just the courses.

At the beginning of each semester, the faculty member would simply link the new semester's courses to the established consolidated course(s) and all their material will automatically carry over. A consolidated course can be set up and linked to just one course or multiple sections of a course.

Consolidating Courses in MyCCRI
Instructions and Screenshots
Step 1

Log in to your MyCCRI account and click on the myCourseTools tab.

Information Technology
Step 2

Select a term from the drop-down arrow next to Course Schedule. All the links to your courses will be displayed.

Graphic of the Term Selection option
Step 3

Click on a link in the top right of the screen to the My Consolidated Courses.

graphic of the link to My Consolidated Courses
Step 4

Type in a name to identify the group of courses. Type in a title for the group.

Click next to each course to be included in the group.

graphic of the screen displaying options to create a group
Step 5

Click on the Create button on the bottom of the

graphic of the Create button for consolidating courses
Step 6

Click on OK to finalize the grouping.

graphic of the OK screen to finalize the course consolidator

Accessing a Consolidated Group of Courses

Once you have consolidated a group of courses you may access the group tools. When you choose a tool in the consolidated course, like Announcements or E-mail, you will send to all students in all sections included in the group. You can still access each section separately as needed.

Accessing a Consolidated Group of Courses
Instructions and Screenshots
Step 1

Log in to your MyCCRI account , click on the myCourseTools tab and select the term (if necessary).

Information Technology
Step 2

Click on the My Consolidated Courses button in the top right of the screen.

graphic of the link to My Consolidated Courses
Step 3

Click on the green link to the grouped course name under the Consolidated Course List at the top of the page.

A group course page will open. All the tools on this page can be used to reach all the students in all the courses attached to the group simultaneously.

consolidated course list

*Note: Any materials added to the group course space will automatically be added to each individual course homepage. To see how things will appear in individual courses, click on the links to the courses under Courses in the right-hand column of the Group Course homepage. Note that any files added will be held in a special Group folder that will automatically added to each course.

To return to the Consolidated Group page, click on the Homepage link and then on the link under Parent Group on the right side of the individual course homepage.

Managing A Consolidated Course

You may add or remove courses that are connected to the group. To remove a course from the group:

Managing A Consolidated Course
Instructions and Screenshots
Step 1

Log in to your MyCCRI account , click on the myCourseTools tab and select the term (if necessary).

Information Technology
Step 2

Click on the My Consolidated Courses link on the top right of the screen.

graphic of the link to My Consolidated Courses
Step 3

Click on the link to your course group under the Consolidated Course List.

consolidated course list
Step 4

Scroll down to the Configuration Tools on the left-hand menu bar.

Click on the Courses link.

graphic of the Configuration Tools
Step 5

Click in the checkbox next to the name(s) of the course(s) you wish to add or remove from your group course.

graphic of the course list in a consolidated group
Step 6

To remove the course from the group, click on the Remove button.

To add a course from the available courses, click next to the course and click on the Add button.

Note that this will just affect the individual course, it will not affect your group

remove button add button
Remove an entire consolidated course group »
Return to MyCCRI Documentation Page »

Go to top of page

This page developed and maintained by Information Technology. Send comments and suggestions to .


Last Updated: 8/13/13