Community College of Rhode Island

Go to 50th Anniversary website

Frequently Asked Questions

BENEFITS

 
How do I enroll in the college medical, dental or vision insurance, or the medical/dependent care reimbursement accounts?

Benefits-eligible faculty and staff must complete a Health Insurance Enrollment form within 30 days of their date of hire.  If enrollment is not completed within 30 days of date of hire, the employee must wait until the annual Open Enrollment period to enroll.  Open Enrollment is held each June and coverage is effective on July 1.  Membership cards will come directly from the benefit provider anywhere from 7 to 30 days from the time your forms are processed by the State.  Once your health insurance co-share is deducted from your paycheck that will indicate the premium payment has been made by the State to the carrier.  We recommend that you do not use your medical, dental or vision coverage until you receive your membership card.

Can I make changes to the college medical, dental or vision, or the medical/dependent care reimbursement accounts?

Generally, changes to your medical, dental, vision or to the medical/dependent care reimbursement accounts are only allowed during the annual Open Enrollment period.

However, if you experience a "qualifying event," a change in enrollment will be allowed if forms and documentation are submitted within 30 days of the event (60 days if marriage).  Qualifying events are:  birth/adoption of a child; marriage or divorce; death of a spouse or dependent; change in employment status of spouse; and termination of employment.

Supporting evidence of any status changes that takes place other than during the annual Open Enrollment period must be attached to the Health Insurance Enrollment/Change Form and forwarded to the Office of Human Resources for processing.

Until what age are my dependents covered for medical/dental insurance?

Children Age 19 - 26: Medical Coverage:  Medical coverage is available for children up to the end of the month they reach age 26, provided they do not have access to medical insurance through their employer.

Children Age 19 - 25: Dental and Vision Coverage:  Dependents are covered until the end of the calendar year after their 19th birthday or up to age 25 while maintaining and providing proof of full-time student student status (12+ credits per semester) at an accredited post-secondary school, college, university or trade school.  If student status ends, coverage will end the last day of the calendar year of the student status change.

I am leaving employment with the College, when does my health insurance end?

If you are leaving the College, benefits end your last day of the pay period in which you terminate.  Continuation coverage (COBRA), at your cost for up to a period of 18 months, may be available under the COBRA law.  If you choose continuation of coverage, the State of Rhode Island is required to allow you to purchase coverage which, as of the time coverage is being provided, is identical to the coverage provided under the plan to similarly situate employees or family members.  Visit the COBRA web site at http://www.employeebenefits.ri.gov/COBRA.php

MEDICAL & DEPENDENT CARE REIMBURSEMENT ACCOUNTS

 
What is the Medical Care Reimbursement Plan?

The Medical Care Reimbursement plan is a flexible spending account that allows you to put aside pre-tax dollars out of your pay for "eligible" medical expenses.  To be eligible for reimbursement, the medical expense must be incurred by you or an eligible dependent during the plan year, may not be reimbursable by any insurance or other source, constitute a deductible medical expense as defined by the IRS, and be submitted along with a receipt from the medical service provider.  Expenses such as deductibles, office visit co-payments, prescription co-payments, orthodontics, and eyeglasses are eligible for reimbursement.  The maximum amount is $2,500 per plan year.  It is extremely important to estimate your plan year expenses carefully, because the IRS imposes two rules:  (1) your election is irrevocable for the plan year unless a change of status occurs and (2) the State Health Care FSA plan will allow up to $500 of unused dollars to be carried over to the following plan year. Any additional money over $500 in your account at the end of the plan year will be forfeited.  The plan runs according to the fiscal year, it runs July 1st through June 30th.  For more information call the Office of Human Resources or visit the State's Employee Benefits - FSA web page.

What happens if I terminate employment?

If you terminate employment, your participation in the Medical FSA will automatically terminate. However, you can receive reimbursement for eligible health care expenses incurred prior to termination. If coverage would otherwise end due to a qualifying event as outlined in the COBRA laws, you and your covered spouse and dependents may be able to continue participation in the plan on an after tax-basis. Your benefits administrator will provide you with information on how to continue coverage under the Medical FSA, if continuation is an option.

What is the Dependent Care Reimbursement Plan?

The Dependent Care Reimbursement plan is a flexible spending account that allows you to put aside pre-tax dollars out your pay for qualified expenses related to the care of your children age 12 and under and/or elderly or incapacitated dependents (such as custodial care of an elder).  The plan allows you to receive payments on a tax-favored basis as you incur the expense rather than waiting each year until tax filing.  The IRS limits the amount you can have withheld from your pay each year and lists "eligible expenses" that qualify for reimbursement.  The maximum amount is $5,000 for the plan year.  In addition, it is extremely important to estimate your plan year expenses carefully, because the IRS imposes two rules:  (1) your election is irrevocable for the plan year unless a change of status occurs and (2) "use it or lose it" any money remaining in your account at the end of the plan year will be forfeited.  The plan runs according to the fiscal year, it runs July 1st through June 30th.  For more information call the Office of Human Resources or visit the State's Employee Benefits - FSA web site.

I signed up for the Medical/Dependent Care Reimbursement Plans; how do I get reimbursed?

Claims for reimbursement are processed within 1‐2 business days of receipt.
Claims must be accompanied by documentation that shows the date, type and cost of service.

You can submit claims through the following:
– Free mobile app (iTunes and Android Marketplace)
– Mail, PO Box 53250, Bellevue, WA 98015
– Email, claims@flex‐plan.com
– Toll‐free fax, 866‐535‐9227
– Online, www.flex‐plan.com (Participant portal)

FSA claims are reimbursed on a daily basis via a hard copy check mailed to your home or a direct deposit into your bank account.

Go to top of page

MAKING CHANGES TO PLANS AND COVERAGES

 
How do I change my address for medical, dental and vision?

Complete a Personal Data Change form and the Health Insurance Change Form.  Please contact your retirement carrier to change your address.  Return both forms to the Office of Human Resources for processing.


How do I change my retirement plan or supplemental retirement plan contributions?

You may make a change to the contribution amount at any time by submitting a new 403(b) Retirement Authorization form.  You must contribute at least the 5% if you are participating in the BOE Retirement Plan. Employees' Retirement System of Rhode Island (ERSRI) participants must contribute the fixed amount as set by the RI State Employee Retirement Board.  This is currently set at 8.75%.  Participants in the ERSRI retirement program may also participate in the Group Supplemental Retirement Account plan (GSRA).  The GSRA Annuity form must be completed and returned to the Office of Human Resources for processing.

How do I change my retirement company election?

You may change investment companies, switching from MetLife, TIAA-CREF or VALIC at any time by completing a new 403(b) Retirement Authorization form.  If the participant has not previously had an account with the new investment company, an enrollment form will be provided to you from the new company.

How do I make a change to the funds I have selected with an investment company?

You may make a change to their investment fund choices within the investment company at any time.  Please contact MetLife, TIAA-CREF and/or VALIC directly for assistance and additional information.

How do I verify or change my retirement plan beneficiaries and/or address?

You may verify or change your retirement plan beneficiaries and/or address at any time by contacting MetLife, TIAA-CREF or VALIC.  Completed forms should be sent directly to the provider. Employee's in the State pension (ERSRI) can go online to the ERSRI website http://content.ersri.org/ersri-forms/, download the form and send directly to ERSRI.

How do I verify or change my life insurance beneficiary?

If you would like to make a change in your beneficiary, please complete a Life Insurance Beneficiary Election form and return to the Office of Human Resources for processing. Please contact the Office of Human Resources to verify your current life insurance beneficiary.


SHORT-TERM AND LONG-TERM DISABILITY INSURANCE

 
Can I apply for Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI)?

Rhode Island State employees DO NOT contribute to, or participate in, the Rhode Island Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI) program due to the ability to accrue sick time.  TDI is a short term disability program.  Employees can opt to purchase short term disability insurance through AFLAC.  New hires can purchase AFLAC within the first 30 days of hire by contacting our representative Doreen Sylvia at 401- 286-2871or via email at sweetiep1@verizon.net.  All other employees can purchase or modify their contracts throughout the year or during the Open Enrollment period which is held in June.

What happens if I become totally disabled?

Our insurance carrier for long-term disability is The Standard Life Insurance.  Long-term disability benefits partially replace your income if you become totally or partially disabled. The period of time that you need to be continuously or partially disabled before your long term disability benefits are payable (also known as your elimination period) is 180 days. If your disability is approved under the requirements outlined by The Standard, you could receive up to 60 percent of your total monthly earnings. The maximum monthly benefit you could receive is $7,000. If you have an extended illness, you will need to contact the Office of Human Resources about the process for applying for long-term disability insurance.

How long will my benefits continue?

The amount of time your long-term disability benefits will continue depends on the age at which your disability begins. Typically if you become disabled at age 59 or lower and have been approved for a long-term disability benefit from The Standard, your benefit will continue until age 65. Note that The Standard will on occasion ask you and/or your physicians for more information or updates regarding your illness, treatments, etc. The Standard reserves the right at any time to discontinue your benefit payments if it is found that you no longer meet eligibility criteria to receive a long-term disability benefit. Refer to the Summary Plan Description available in the Office of Human Resources for more information about the length of benefits and eligibility criteria.

What happens if I am injured at work?

Be sure to notify your supervisor of any injury/incident, no matter how minor it may appear to be.  You should also contact Campus Police.  A First Report of Injury form must be completed as well as the adjoining Injury/Incident Report which must be filled out by both you and your supervisor within 24 hours of the incident.  The forms must be sent to the Office of Human Resources as quickly as possible so that you can get the care that you may need.

Go to top of page

TUITION WAIVER

 
Am I eligible for a Tuition Waiver?

If you are a full-time employee on the bi-weekly payroll (calendar or academic year), you and your dependents may be eligible for a Tuition Waiver.  The waiver is not applicable to non-credit, specialty, or executive MBA courses.  The waiver is limited strictly to tuition.  All other fees, books, supplies, travel and other expenses must be paid by the individual.  For more information on tuition waivers, please visit http://www.ccri.edu/hr/handbook/315Educ.html

How do I apply for the Tuition Waiver?

 Log into MyCCRI and click on the 'For Employees' tab.  Under 'Employment Details', scroll down to 'Tuition Waiver Request' and click on the link.  Complete the waiver form and submit.  Click here for detailed information about submitting a tuition waiver request.

EMPLOYMENT VERIFICATIONS

 
Who do employees refer someone to for verification of their employment with the college (for mortgage applications, credit applications, etc.)?

Refer all required verifications to the Office of Human Resources.  All requests must be in writing.  Requests can be faxed to 401-825-2345.

Who do employees refer someone to for verification of educational history verification and/or transcripts from the college?

Refer all education verifications to the Office of Enrollment Services at 401-825-2003.

MISCELLANEOUS

 
How many sick days do I get per year?

An employee is entitled to sick leave in accordance with the provisions of his/her collective bargaining agreement.  Employees who are unable to report to work should notify their direct supervisor before the scheduled start of their workday.

How many vacation days do I get per year?

All full-time, calendar-year employees are eligible for annual leave in accordance with the provisions of his/her collective bargaining agreement. Employees who work less than full-time or work academic-year should refer to their collective bargaining agreement to determine eligibility for annual leave.

How many personal days do I get per year?

All full-time employees, except academic-year faculty, are entitled to four (4) personal days with pay per calendar year to attend to personal matters or religious observances which cannot be reasonably attended to outside of the normal work day. Employees are not required to give a reason as a condition of approval for the use of personal leave. Supervisory approval of a request for use of personal leave, however, must be obtained in advance. Personal days may not be carried forward to the next calendar-year.  Any days remaining at the end of the calendar-year will be forfeited.

How many days off do I get for the death of a family member?

Bereavement leave is available for all employees who need to take time off due to the death of an immediate family member. Immediate supervisors should be notified as soon as possible regarding the circumstances. Each collective bargaining agreement outlines the amount of bereavement time allowable for the death of an immediate family member and a listing of those family members included in the definition of "immediate family. Bereavement leave should be indicated on the employee's leave report. Employees may use available sick leave for any additional time off needed.


Last Updated: 2/26/15