Community College of Rhode Island

Go to 50th Anniversary website

Liston Campus Discussion Group

February 22, 2005

Participants: Maureen Abbate (mabbate@ccri.edu), Margaret Connell (mconnell@ccri.edu), Leslie Gell (lmgell@ccri.edu), Dorcas Haller (dhaller@ccri.edu), Ray Kilduff (rkilduff@ccri.edu), Brenda Micheletti (bmicheletti@ccri.edu), Ann O'Leary (aoleary@ccri.edu), Michael Poindexter (mpoindexter@ccri.edu), Phil Sisson (psisson@ccri.edu), Leisa Young (lyoung@ccri.edu).

Phil handed out a copy of the Power Point presentation and explained the purpose of the discussion group. He explained the proposed project plan, pointed out the existing "Common General Education Goals" (URI, RIC, & CCRI Transfer Guide) and the "CCRI Graduate Outcomes Statement". After Phil's introduction the group did brain-storming to come up with a list of "knowledge, skills, and competencies" that all CCRI students should possess. Lively discussion ensued.

List of knowledge, skills, & competencies

  • Familiarity with/ appreciation of the arts & humanities
  • Self-advocacy skills
  • Ability to do research
  • Life skills/ professional skills
  • Ability to form/ express ideas and opinions
  • Quantitative reasoning and analysis
  • Listening skills
  • Speaking skills
  • Reading skills
  • Writing skills
  • Communication skills
  • Critical thinking skills
  • Computational skills
  • Ability to access, evaluate & use information (information literacy)
  • Ability to work in a team
  • Ability to solve problems
  • Ability to be an independent learner
  • Understanding of global perspectives
  • Understanding of science
  • Knowledge/understanding of US history
  • Knowledge/understanding of US civics
  • Diversity
  • Responsibility
  • Ability to use information/ computer technology
  • Appreciation of health and wellness issues
  • Computer literacy
  • Acceptance of individual differences
  • Morally & ethically informed decision-making

Submitted: DWHaller, 2-22-05

Go to top of page

This page developed and maintained by General Education Committee . Send comments and suggestions to .


Last Updated: 2/17/11