RI Rider Education Program
Knight Campus, Warwick
400 East Avenue
Warwick, RI 02886
Tel: 401.825.1214 (Warwick)
Tel: 401.333.7070 (Lincoln)
For the Basic Rider Course (Non-Licensed Riders)
To legally ride a motorcycle in Rhode Island, state law requires successful completion of a Motorcycle Rider Safety Course. Anyone seeking to obtain a motorcycle license must successfully complete a 16.5 hour training program. This program is comprised of two lectures, a 3.5 hour session and a 3 hour session. In addition students must successfully complete two 5 hour riding ranges. CCRI provides all training motorcycles, and there are several helmets on loan at each facility.
It is illegal in Rhode Island to ride a motorcycle without a motorcycle license or permit: DO NOT ride your motorcycle to classes or ranges.
There are specific and stringent safety requirements of the Motorcycle Safety Program that must be followed. It is mandatory that all students bring the following to:
- Pen or pencil, paper and your Valid Driver’s License
- Your Valid Driver’s License
- DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet (If you do not have a DOT helmet, arrive early, you may be able to borrow one from the instructor.)
- Long sleeve shirt or jacket, durable pants (such as jeans)
- Leather, full fingered gloves
- Eye protection -- sun glasses or prescription glasses are ok; but, remember to bring clear lenses if ranges are at night. All eye protection must be made of safety glass.
- Over the ankle leather shoes with a good, non-slip sole.
- Bring snacks and refreshments to keep you alert and hydrated (breaks are given at the discretion of the instructor)
- Rain gear when needed – check the weather before you travel to class
Remember – You must dress according to the weather conditions. For colder months, dress in layers. During warmer months, long sleeve tee-shirts or button downs are acceptable. Five hours outdoors on bikes can be very uncomfortable if you are not dressed for the conditions.
Failure to bring the appropriate items/gear to the range, failure to appear without notice and/or failure to arrive on time will result in your having to reschedule and pay a range rescheduling fee of $50.00.
No one will be tested without proper and valid identification - driver's license.
Pre-course assignment: please click on the link below to review the first chapter of the Rider Handbook.
Our goal is for you to complete the course in a timely fashion according to your chosen schedule. If, however, you do not complete all hours (16.5) successfully within the program year in which you begin, you must re-register, pay full course fees, and take the entire class in the next year. There are no exceptions.
Each student must successfully pass a written exam, at the second lecture; and a riding skills test, at the second range session. Failure of the written exam will result in rescheduling and retesting at a later date. Failure to pass the riding skills test may result in rescheduling into the entire motorcycle safety program. Your Rider Coach will advise you as to the best and safest course of action to meet your individual needs.
Motorcycle Rider Coaches are certified and trained to provide you with the best training available; however, it is not uncommon that a student has difficulty in meeting all standards of safety after the first attempt. For this reason students will be allowed to retake the first range ($50 fee). The student will be rescheduled to another range as soon as possible, based on the recommendation of the instructor. A second failure of range one may result in rescheduling into the entire motorcycle safety program.
If you miss a range or are required to retake a range, you will be given a reschedule form by your instructor. This form must be fully completed and brought by you to the CWCE Warwick or Lincoln office between the hours of 8am and 4pm, M-F. At that time, you will pay a $50 rescheduling fee and receive your new range date. You will be required to show proof of payment at the CWCE office. Failure to show proof of payment will result in your being dropped from the roster.
Your Certificate of completion is valid for six months. You must visit the DMV to apply for your permit within that time frame. If your certificate expires, you may be eligible for recertification upon successful completion of a riding skills test. Eligibility is determined by the length of time from the date of your original completion. If it is within one year, you will be scheduled to take a riding skills test and earn a new certificate of completion. There is a fee ($50) for the riding skills re test.
it is rare that a range is cancelled due to bad weather. Nevertheless, you may call the office one hour before the class to ensure that it is still meeting: Warwick, 825.1214 or Lincoln, 333.7070 – office hours in Warwick & Lincoln are Monday – Thursday, 8am–6pm, Friday, 8am–4pm and Saturday, 9am–Noon. After office hours, call Campus Security: Warwick 825.2109 or Lincoln 333.7035.
It is very important that you read your entire schedule when registering for a class. Be certain you are able to attend each session. Any absence will result in delay, rescheduling, and additional fees.
You must attend two classroom lectures and two riding ranges. Classes are 3&1/2 hours and 3 hours long and the ranges are 5 hours each.
You must attend all hours of class and range to be eligible to take the written exam and the riding skills test.
Please make plans to arrive at least 15 minutes prior to the start of your class or range. Arriving late may result in having to re-register for another class section. Do not register for a class for which you cannot attend all sessions as it may result in a delay in rescheduling and additional fees.
This page developed and maintained by Center for Workplace and Community Education. Send comments and suggestions to .